ASA News

News relating to ASA and clubs
Font size: +
2 minutes reading time (462 words)

Lecturer of the Year (LOTY) 2020 goes Virtual



The students' choice awards for the best of the best lecturers on the Albany campus - winner announced!  Zoë Port from the Massey Business School being the ultimate winner.

There was a break from tradition in 2020 with the awards moving online due to the threat of Covid-19 lockdowns. The ASA team put together a video of the history of LOTY which was followed by the 2020 awards.  

Thanks to all students who nominated their lecturers. 95 lecturers were nominated by the students on the Albany campus and the feedback provided was truly inspiring given the very tough year that both students and teaching staff have survived. 

Whilst some lecturers were initially disappointed that there would not be a celebratory in-person lunch this year, everyone understood that the decision had not been made lightly and was for the safety of all concerned, not least, the large number of student volunteers that are involved in an in-person event.  With Auckland CBD workers being asked to work from home on the day of the awards, ASA was pleased that for 2020 at least, the awards had been moved online. Lecturers, did however, take it upon theirselves to meet in groups to watch the awards, so lots of mini-celebrations did take place. 

Nominees will be sent a certificate showing the positive comments that students included with their nominations and will also be the recipient of a branded LOTY face mask. 

Hot off the press, response to the event included the comments,

"I know you’ll be getting heaps of praise for that effort ASA, but I just wanted to add my admiration for what you do. These LOTY awards take a huge amount of effort, but for those of us who try to make the efforts for students, they are the highlight of the year….Thanks again, for doing such a good job this year in such difficult circumstances… was a great production! THANK YOU!! 😊"

"Thanks for a fabulous ceremony, I have my past certificates on my wall behind my screen and they have been an especially lovely pick-me-up during a challenging year. Whenever work stress is getting to me, I just look to the wall and read the lovely comments. This year's award is extra special."


2020 Lecturer of the Year Zoë Port


College Winners

College of Health : Bernie Kushner

College of Humanities and Social Sciences : Dr David Belgrave

College of Sciences : Dr Greg Chawynksi

Massey Business School : Zoë Port


2020 Advocacy Acolades

The Interlislander Award: Jens Mueller
The Kea Award: Mal Green
The Sir William Hamilton Award: Tim Cooper
The Dame Valerie Adams Award: Sarah Dodds
The Whitebait Fritter Award: Anna Hearne
The Zorb Award: Hagyun Kim

The ASA Appreciation Award to a general staff member: Jenni Beckett

Stay Informed

When you subscribe to the blog, we will send you an e-mail when there are new updates on the site so you wouldn't miss them.

Press Release Regarding Student Associations Merge...
ASA Executive's Guide to the General Election 2020