The students' choice awards for the best of the best lecturers on the Albany campus - winner announced!  Dr Greg Chawynski, senior lecturer in the School of Built Environment, College of Sciences being the ultimate winner in the 17th year of the LOTY tradition.   Our video will be released on Monday. 


Thanks to all students who nominated their lecturers. 136 lecturers were nominated by the students on the Albany campus which shows just how much students have appreciated the efforts of teaching staff who have gone above and beyond in 2021 with the campus being closed for what adds up to almost a full semester.



Lecturers were hanging out for an in-person celebration, and LOTY was delayed just in case that became an option, but it was not to be.  However, we worked hard behind the scenes to bring them an online out of this world, astronomical celebration unlikely to be forgotten! 

Nominees will be sent a certificate showing the positive comments that students included with their nominations and will also be the recipient of a branded LOTY 2021 face mask. 

A sample of some of the comments that students submitted when nominating Dr Chawynski were: 


2021 Lecturer of the Year Dr Greg Chawynski


College Winners

College of Health : Professor Mark Henrickson

College of Humanities and Social Sciences : Dr Clifford van Ommen

College of Sciences : Dr Greg Chawynksi

Massey Business School : Dr Loren Stangl


2021 Advocacy Acolades


The ASA Appreciation Award to a general staff member: Katie Harris (Service Leader Student Fees)